Ensuring Quality Continuing Education and Training  

The NIBS Whole Building Design Guide® continuing education program serves a broad mix of stakeholders, each with a diverse set of continuing education needs. As a registered Continuing Education (CE) provider, the WBDG has partnered with a number of organizations to serve as a host for the following continuing education credits:

  • For registered architects:  AIA Continuing Education System Learning Units (LUs) (including health, safety, and welfare topics)
  • For LEED Accredited Professionals (AP):  USGBC GBCI CE hours
  • For Federal Energy/Facility Managers:  International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) CEUs, offered by the DOE Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP)
  • Code professionals:  ICC CE units
  • Engineers and other professionals:  Professional Development Hours (PDH)

NIBS will submit learning units to AIA electronically each month for members completing accredited training. All other building design professionals will receive a certificate of completion for approval and processing with their professional membership organization upon passing the course.

For more information on equivalency for continuing education credits, please see the table below:

Time Spent in Training Accrediting Organization Equivalent Credits
1 Hour AIA 1 LU

American Institute of Architects

The American Institute of Architects is the professional membership organization for architects. AIA architect members are required to complete eighteen (18) Learning Units (LU) hours of continuing education per year for membership renewal. Of those 18 LU hours, at least twelve (12) hours must be on Health, Safety and Welfare (HSW) topics; the remaining six (6) credits may be on topics related to architecture, construction, and engineering (general topics = LU designated programs). The AIA Continuing Education System (CES) mission is to support AIA members in mastering new knowledge and skills to meet new trends in the profession. As an AIA CES Approved Provider, NIBS offers continuing education on the WBDG in accordance with the AIA CES system guidelines.

U.S. Green Building Council

The U.S. Green Building Council is committed to a sustainable, prosperous future through LEED, the leading program for green buildings and communities worldwide. USGBC serves as a premier resource for LEED and sustainability education for professional green credentials, continuing education hours, and new knowledge. Courses are approved by the GBCI to meet rigorous standards and to help users fulfill credits for LEED credentials and AIA requirements. As a USGBC approved provider, NIBS is pleased to offer courses on the WBDG to help meet these requirements.

Federal Energy Management Program

The Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP), a program of DOE, works to enable federal agencies to meet energy-related goals, identify affordable solutions, facilitate public-private partnerships, and provide energy leadership to the country by identifying and leveraging government best practices. The partnership between FEMP and NIBS allows the WBDG to offer courses that support the Federal Building Personnel Training Act competencies and provide up-to-date information targeted to mid-level Federal Energy, Water, and Sustainability Managers as well as environmental professionals. FEMP is an accredited provider of IACET CEUs.

International Association for Continuing Education and Training

The International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) developed the original Continuing Education Unit (CEU) and today ensures that providers of continuing education and training can prove they provide high-quality instruction by following the ANSI/IACET Standard for Continuing Education and Training through a rigorous accreditation process. IACET's mission to train a global workforce means that providers have been able to achieve the IACET Accreditation. FEMP courses are approved to meet these requirements.

International Code Council

The International Code Council (ICC) is a member-focused association dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build, and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable, and resilient structures. The Preferred Provider Program (PPP) focuses on training opportunities offered by various categories of ICC-approved education providers. PPP recognizes and promotes ICC-approved educational offerings through the WBDG as they relate to codes, standards and guidelines, as well as to building construction materials, products and methods.

National Institute of Building Sciences

The National Institute of Building Sciences (NIBS) successfully brings together representatives of government, professions, industry, labor and consumer interests, and regulatory agencies to identify and resolve problems and potential problems that hamper the construction of safe, affordable structures for housing, commerce and industry throughout the United States. NIBS’ councils and committees host webinars to inform the building industry about latest activities and educate professionals about cutting-edge research that results from their programs. The presenters are subject matter experts and often are the leaders responsible for developing and implementing the research addressed in the course content hosted by the WBDG.